Leitrim-Roscommon Forum Index Leitrim-Roscommon
Leitrim-Roscommon Genealogy Bulletin Board

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Surname Search
Leitrim-Roscommon Forum Index

I am trying to trace Phillips family tree information
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Leitrim-Roscommon Forum Index -> Leitrim-Roscommon BB
View previous topic :: View next topic  
elizabeth

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 5:03 pm    Post subject: I am trying to trace Phillips family tree information Reply with quote

Hiya,
I am new to this stuff and am progressing nicely with some parts of my family tree. I am getting a little stuck with some other bits though - looks like boundries have moved etc.. and it's all rather Baffling!!! Crying or Very sad

My family from what I gather is from Co Mayo - A place called Toobrackan - Kilcommon is the Parish and Castello is the Barony is what I have found so far.

My Grandfather was Thomas Phillips. His father it looks like was Myles Phillips (looks like he had a brother Myles known as Ned??). I did find 1901 census info relating to this.

Now my problem is - my Aunt talks of the family farm / land being known as what she thought was "Derrenabrack" - does anyone happen to know how this relates or whether it is a completely different thing?? I can't find anything with "Derrenabrack" at all (lots of derren??? places - but nothing like she says) Is this a much older thing altogether - perhaps names changed over years??

I really don't know if the "Derrenabrack" is a farm or land inside Toobracken?? (By that I mean Toobracken is a townland - my famillies farm is within that townland??)

Is there anyone out there who has more experience and knowledge than me that could help me with that point please??